Ragged Hearts 

Proverbs 4:23 (NIV)

23 Above all else, guard your heart,

    for everything you do flows from it.

So…this is very late lol. But I wanted to share my Valentine’s Day projects. 

This was my quilt for February. It’s a mini quilt, about 28″x28″. Once it was done I really wished I’d added on another like 7″ inches and made it a baby quilt instead. On the other hand, I think it’ll look really nice hanging over my sewing table once I get my new sewing room set up 😁 

I appliquéd about a quarter inch from the edge of each heart, allowing them to fray. I thought it was a nice reminder that even the most ragged of hearts can be beautiful ❤️

If anyone wants to use this design for a baby quilt, feel free, but I’d love to see the finished product! I think this quilt would look great with other color combinations too. 

Once I was finished with the mini quilt, I had an idea for the scraps.


Aren’t these scrappy pot holders adorable?! I ended up giving them to my mum for Valentine’s Day, so it was nice having a gift for her already made. Making these actually helped me to learn a decent amount. When dealing with hearts that you plan on turning, it’s better to not have a very deep v. I think that was the biggest problem with the first heart.

Then I had a lot of problems with the binding around the second one. It kept bunching weird. Does anyone have any suggestions to fix that? 

The pot holders are scrap project #1 and 2 for the blog!! 

It was so much fun for me to just get in the mood for Valentine’s Day. 

It’s been pretty crazy in my life because my fiancé and I just found out for sure that we are buying a house!! 


It’s a fixer upper (which I kinda love), but it’s very hectic to plan a wedding, pack everything, and start fixing up a house, but I wouldn’t want it any other way. 

So, let me know any thoughts on the quilt or potholders! 

Leave a Reply

