Scarves Galore

“And to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you” 

1 Thessalonians 4:11

In my efforts to write this post, I originally published only the Bible verse. Oops lol 😂

I actually wanted to write about another goal for 2017. I’m trying to keep everything written down and in the public eye to hold myself more accountable. I feel that this will make me more likely to follow through.

One of my big goals for 2017 is to not buy any new fabric or yarn. The other half of this goal (which is already hard enough, no new fabrics 😭) is to actually go through and use a bunch of my stuff. There’s no reason to hoard a bunch of fabric and yarn just to gather dust. If I have it, I want to turn it into something beautiful.

Recently, I’ve been given a ton of yarn and fabric for free. My storage spaces are completely filled to overflowing. I’ve been shoving the stuff everywhere I can think of in my tiny studio apartment, so it’s very important that I use some of it up. What if someone else offers me free yarn? Currently I’d probably have to turn them down because I have no space for it. That is unacceptable.

One type of yarn I’d really like to use is a specialty yarn. It’s the Sashay boutique yarn. I know there’s tons of fun uses for this yarn, but I only use it for Ruffles scarves.

I counted my stash, and I currently have 22 skeins of the stuff!! 

The whole top row(s) of that shelf is filled with that type of yarn. Since I only use it for one thing, there’s no reason not to actually use it.

Though I found this idea on Pinterest:


(Disclaimer: not my image at all, not my creation. Just a project idea from Pinterest)

And I think it’d be awesome to create one of those.

Other than the potential wreath, my goal goal for the next 2 months is to use up all of my Sashay boutique yarn. This is a sub goal under the idea of using up my stash. It’s important to create reasonable sub goals like this. If I just say it’s my goal to use my stash this year, I have no idea where to start. I could easily get overwhelmed. This sub goal gives me a place to start and some time to gather ideas for using the rest.

I’ve currently used three skeins! Look at that “scarf” on the left. It’s way too short to be a scarf but it was the entire skein. I’m currently just focusing on getting through the entire collection of the yarn then I may go back and take it apart for something else.

(When I went to put these away, I found several ones I already had made and stored away 😂. I’m not counting them towards this goal though)

Current progress 3/22. Hoping to get 2-3 done while I work in the tutoring lab.

Leave a Reply

