A Pretty Pink Dress

“A fool’s mouth lashes out with pride, but the lips of the wise protect them.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭14:3‬ ‭NIV‬‬

This is another late post. My birthday is December 29th, so it often gets blurred in with Christmas celebrations. On the other hand, it’s very easy for me to pick my favorite time of the year lol.

This year I turn 19, so it’s my last year as a teenager 😁 Unlike a lot of people I know, I actually look forward to my birthdays. It’s always exciting to celebrate surviving one more year.

This year for my birthday, I decided to make myself a gift. I’ve wanted a new pink dress for a while. To be precise, ever since I last cleaned and organized my closet and realized I had almost nothing pink. So probably close to a year.

Well I finally decided to change that!


My mum had bought me some old dress patterns at a yard sale, and I figured I could just use one of them. Unfortunately, the pattern only offered sizes 12,14,16. I’m closer to like a 6.

I’m also really lazy so I didn’t properly modify it; I tried to cheat. The skirt is originally made from four seperate pieces with two side seams and a front and back seam. I decided to just remove a piece and make it two side seams with one front seam.



I like the way the back turned out but I really hated the front seam with that type of material. It kept sticking to my legs and making it seem like I was wearing a jumpsuit or something. Which can be cute in some outfits, but definitely not with this dress.

In addition, the pattern was originally for a midi length skirt and I wanted it to be just above my knees. Unfortunately, I wished I’d shortened it just a couple inches more. It was cute as is but I feel like it cuts off at a slightly weird spot making my legs look shorter.

Overall though, I do really like it. It gave me a lot of ideas of ways to improve future projects.

The most important thing was to buy dress patterns in my proper size. I went through and got rid of all the patterns that were plus sized.

Leave a Reply

