Crochet: Beginnings to Now

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything be excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things. (Phil. 4:8 NIV)

I love to crochet!

I picked it up about 2 years ago while I was working at a Bible conference in New Jersey. I was down there for about a month, and it gave me a lot of free time between services. The other two women with me absolutely loved crochet. As I spent time with them and saw the joy they got from the craft, I wanted to learn too. Thank goodness they were so patient in teaching me,or I might never have learned. I started with the basics, a rather ugly green scarf.

image (10)

It certainly wasn’t perfect. The stitches went from overly loose to overly tight. I dropped two stitches somewhere along the way.

But it was the first crochet project I’d ever tried or accomplished, and I was proud of it.

After that, Mrs. E gave me a beginner book on crochet that taught me how to read patterns. SInce then, I’ve developed quite the addiction for crocheting. Three under the bed totes are filled with yarn incase the urge hits me.

image (11)Perhaps one day I’ll actually organize it by color and softness. Sorry for any OCD visitors who are completely annoyed by my stash of craziness. (At least I didn’t show you the fabric stash 😉 )

I’d definitely say that my crochet abilities have improved a lot through practice. I recently completed a set of newborn photography props for one of my teachers.

image (1)This is probably one of the most intricate projects that I’ve ever tried to complete. I give all credit to God for helping me get through it, especially on getting it finished before the baby actually came.

The red over skirt is actually the second one I made. I finished the first one completely, even weaving in the ends, when I tried to attach it to the cream diaper cover underneath and realized it was way too big. The waist bands weren’t even close to matching! Because I’d already weaved in the ends, I had no choice but to start from scratch. Luckily, newborn clothes take very little yarn, so I didn’t have to go buy more.

In fact, it took so little that I had enough left over to make a beanie for my boyfriend.

image (3)He’s a carpenter, so he works outside a lot. It was around February that I made the beanie, and it helped me to not worry about him getting cold. Plus, it was super soft because it was originally for a baby. No scratchy Red Heart here :D.

He made the comment that he preferred it over knit beanies because it was looser and air could escape a little easier. This would keep him warm without getting overly hot and sweating 🙂 He’s even worn it several times since I gave it to him!

Thanks for checking out my blog! Keep coming back to check for new posts 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

